Five by Machine Head Guitarist: Robb Flynn + Ahrue Luster Album: The Burning Red Dif.: 6 Tabbed by TWIGGy5
NOTE: Tune to Drop B (B F# B E G# C#) NOTE: * = strum 8x
Fill 1/Verse (Gtr. 1) - Just do muted strings 16x and gradually get cresendo
Fill 1 (Gtr. 2) (Gradually Cresendo) E |-7--------------------(7)~~~~~~~~~~~~~~-^---------(7)--(7)~~~~~~~- ^ hold note then here ^ start to vibrate then bend 1/2 step up then back down to bracketed 7 then vibrate again.
Fill 1 (Gtr. 2) (cont.) G#|-4--------|-%-| E |-7-7(15x)-|-%-|
Intro (Gtr. 1) E|-X(6x)-5/14-14*-12(3x)-14(7x)-14^--14^(3x)-14(11x)------| B|--------------------------------------------------0-0-0-| <- LOw B ^ 1/4 ^ 1/2
Intro (Gtr. 2) G#|-------5---------------------------------------------------------| E |-7(4x)-7(4x)-7(7x)-7^--7(6x)-(7)-7p5-7-7-7-7~~7~~7~~7~~7~~-------| F#|-----------------------------------------------------------XX////| ^ hold bend till bracketed 7 pik slide ^
Intro P2/Chorus (Both Guitars) B |-12-3--1--4-8/13--13-10-| F#|-12-3--1--4-8/13--13-10-| B |-12-3--1--4-8/13--13-10-|
Verse (Gtr. 1) (hold note) B |-12-----------------------------------(12)~~~~~~~~~~~-Feedback-(12)^---(12)-| >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
Verse (Gtr. 2) F#|-12\\\\\\\\\\\\\\---------------| B |-12\\\\\\\\\\\\\\-----(GTR-OUT)-|
Verse P2 (Gtr. 1) E|-7*-|-%-|-%-|-%-|-%-|-%-|-7~(8x)-7~-----------------|
Verse P2 (Gtr. 2) E|--------|---------|--------|------5/14-14*-12(4x)-14(3x)-
Verse P2 (Gtr. 2) (cont.) E|-14^---14(7x)-(14)------| ^ gradually bend 1/2 step while piking then bring back down to bracketed 14
Verse 2 P2 (Gtr. 2) E|-X-X--X-X--X-X-|--X-X-X-X-X-X-X-|-X-X--X-X--X-X-|-X-X-X-X-X-
Verse 2 P2 (Gtr. 2) (cont.)
Bridge (Both Guitars) B |-0-0--3-3--1-1----1-1-0-1-3-3-4-| F#|-0-0--3-3--1-1----1-1-0-1-3-3-4-| B |-0-0--3-3--1-1----1-1-0-1-3-3-4-|
Bridge (Gtr. 3) (trem pik all) E|--14-17---15----------|-%-|-14-12---10-------14-17---15-|
Fill 2 (Gtr. 2) (w/ wah) B|-0---------------------------0-0-----------------------| <- Low B
Fill 2 (Gtr. 1) (PM ALL) B |-------------------------------6-|-%-| F#|---7-5---8---7-5---8-----5-7-8---|-%-| B |-0-----7---0-----7---0-7---------|-%-|
Interlude (Both Guitars) - Do Fill 2 w/o PM's
Fill 3 (Gtr. 1) (clean) C#|--------------------------------------------15-------| G#|--------------------------------------------15-------| E |-----0------0----------------------------------------| B |---3------7----5-------------------------------------| F#|-5-----/8------6-------------------------------------|
Fill 4 (Gtr. 2) B |-XXX----XXXX--XXXX----XXXX--XX-XX-| F#|-XXX----XXXX--XXXX----XXXX--XX-XX-| B |-XXX----XXXX--XXXX----XXXX--XX-XX-|
Fill 5 (Gtr. 1) B |-21(7x)----21-21(4x)--21-21-21--21-21-21-21-21-21----------------| F#|-21(7x)----21-21(4x)--21-21-21--21-21-21-21-21-21-XX\\\\\\\\\\\\-| B |-21(7x)----21-21(4x)--21-21-21--21-21-21-21-21-21-XX\\\\\\\\\\\\-|
Song Structure: - HEAVY BREATHING Intro (BASS)/PIK SCRAPES AD LIB Fill 1 (Gtr. 1)/Fill 1 (Gtr. 2) Intro (Gtr. 1)/Intro (Gtr. 2) Intro P2 (Both Guitars) ("GOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!") Verse (Gtr. 1)/Verse (Gtr. 2) ("I remember was a.....") Verse P2 (Gtr. 1)/Verse P2 (Gtr. 2) ("I could smell your....") Chorus (Both Guitars) ("For all of the times...") Verse (Gtr. 1)/Verse (Gtr. 2) ("I remember words....") Verse P2 (Gtr. 1)/Verse 2 P2 (Gtr. 2) ("If you tell I'll kill...") Chorus (Both Guitars) Bridge (Both Guitars)/Bridge (Gtr. 3) ("AHHHHHHH........ and I feel..") Interlude (Both Guitars) 4x (on 4th time lift pm) Bridge (Both Guitars) ("Ahhhhhhh and I feel it...") Fill 3 (Gtr. 1) Fill 4 (Gtr. 1)/Fill 4 (Gtr. 2) ("for all the times i've been losing my god damn mind...") Fill 5 (Gtr. 1/Fill 1 (Gtr. 2) ("You.... make you suffer....") Chorus (Both Guitars) End on open B5 FIVE!!!!!!!!! FIVE!!!!!!!!!! FIVE!!!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHH RANDOM NOISES
There ya go.. Nice deep dark song by are friends in Machine Head. Any comments, corrections or suggestions email me at

variations - click chord images
Transpose chords:
Cool service:
View: Size:
A  A  A
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
click stars to rate
Login to add this song to your songbook
IMPORTANT: The song above is NOT stored on the Chordie server. The original song is hosted at Chordie works as a search engine and provides on-the-fly formating. Chordie does not index songs against artists/composers will. To remove this song please click here.

login to add comments/video/corrections