Topic: Music's Effect on Emotions

Hello.  I'm very new to the music scene and learning a musical instrument is something I've only been enjoying the last year or so.  Anyway, I'm wondering about the WHY music affects how we feel and why animals don't react to the same tones as humans do.  I mean, you'll never see a cat weep from listening to some beautifully sad piece of violin music but it can sure make a human teary-eyed.  Dogs might howl at a passing firetruck but it's not like they are really singing along.

Why does music make us want to dance?  Why can music make us feel sad or happy?  Or angry?  Or malevolent?

Any theories?  Or does someone happen to know?

Beginner guitar player, 42, been playing a little over a year.  I'm the singer in a little garage band and I'm trying to hone my guitar skills so I can play and sing as well.  I'm also lefty, with 2 electrics and 1 accoustic.

Re: Music's Effect on Emotions

Hi teebird,I really like the cat pic you have up there. That is agreat question you ask and it must have a ton of answeres,I get worked up with alot of tunes out there and I really dont know why. I do know alot of them bring back great memories,and some not so great. I am going too keep watching this thred and see what other people come up with.                             dino

my papy said son your going too drive me too drinking if you dont stop driving that   Hot  Rod  Lincoln!! Cmdr cody and his lost planet airman

That's a good question, and I don't know if anyone could tell you exactly why music generates emotion in us.  I do know that we can describe the musical forms that do.   When we talk about "resolution" that is for the most part what we mean. It's that satisfying end to a chord progression or melody line.  There are some simple rules described in music theory you can follow that will lead you to resolution, and hopefully a positive emotional experience.

Someday we'll win this thing...