Topic: Rhymth Issues

My dear friend has rhymth problems.
She is a bassist, currently trying to learn guitar. I am a guitarist of two and a half years, and have been trying to help her along with the struggles. We have discovered that she is rhymthically challenged and has hard times with keeping a beat, is there any methods we can use to get over this, or will practice just help her along?

Tips?
Advice?
Methods to help?

Thank you

Re: Rhymth Issues

merrickk if your friend has a computer there are some online metronomes that can be set for any meter to practice to also there are inexpensive drum machines that are adjustable with regards to tempo even the free audacity program has a click track that can be adjusted for any tempo to practice to if she has a computer otherwise there are metronomes that are digital as well as the old fashion reliable pendulum type smile

"Growing old is not for sissies"

Hi merrickk and welcome to the forum,

I'm not sure anyone just picks up the guitar and automatically has good rhythm. I think it's just a matter of practice, practice, and more practice. When I was learning the guitar I struggled with rhythm, timing, and everything else a beginner deals with. I could hear in my head what I wanted it to sound like but just couldn't get my picking hand to do it. It seemed like all of a sudden it snapped one day and I was able start keeping better and constant rhythm. I think this hurdle is what keeps a lot of folks from learning the guitar or any other instrument,,,,the basics. So I say, keep on beatin on them strings; she'll get there.