Topic: Hello everybody! I'm new here and I'm teaching myself acoustic guitar

And I'm wondering what are some of the easiest songs I can start with? I'm all ears...

Thanks!

Re: Hello everybody! I'm new here and I'm teaching myself acoustic guitar

Blue on Black

Ibanez ew20ase-nt
Martin D-18
Taylor GC-5

3 (edited by Buzzwagon 2011-02-10 08:42:01)

Hi DG and welcome to Chordie. If you go to the Public Books tab at the top of the page and click on Absolute Beginners you'll find hundreds to choose from.

Jerry

Live the life you love, love the life you live

Hello, DG. What kinda music do you like / wanna learn? I am assuming you are a beginning guitar player and just beginning your learning experience (correct me if I am wrong). If this is the case I would try to advise you to spend your time in practice, learning chords (open and barre), chord fingerings, chord progressions, and the all important scales prior to atempting songs. (your chord practice can be playing parts and pieces of songs) Once your finger tips have toughened up, your chord changing is smooth, your "feel" for the rythem of a song has grown, you understand chord progressions - you will find that the songs you wanna learn will become easier. Keep in mind that one of the most important parts of the learning progress learning to feel the rythem of the music. It doesn't matter what instrument you play - you gotta be able to keep time. In guitar playing the strum patterns are all connected to the timing of the music, as well as playing lead guitar solo licks / riffs. You have to learn how to listen to the music in order to feel the rythem. You can know all the scale patterns, all the chords, all the chord progressions there are but you gotta have the "rythem" to put it all together.

Nela

Hi  good advice above,some of the people you might try are creedence clearwater,neil diamond, bob dylan and there are alot of beatles songs that are easy.