Topic: What next?

Hiya all here...

I've reached a stage where i don't seem to be getting any further. I'm having no success with barring chords and a lot of pain in my fret thumb due to the way i hold the guitar... any solutions?

I've been playing when i can for about 18 months (self taught). I've got 2 acoustic guitars (one 12 string) and an electric. I prefer the acoustic.

Do i need lessons now??????????

Re: What next?

You probably aught to practice barre chords, as that's what an instructor will tell you to do.

But generally, yes, if you feel like you've plateued, go see a pro!

Someday we'll win this thing...

[url=http://www.aclosesecond.com]www.aclosesecond.com[/url]

Hi Dezill!

When I level out I alwas call my friend or my sis and fix a simple jamming session. The friend is a semi pro and my sis knows less than me. I've noticed that one great way of learning things is to teach your knowledge to someone else. You have to force your brain to think in new ways to teach and that gives you new perspective.

Get some beers and a friend and try it out. If you don't have any friends that play, pick one that is somewhat interested in playing and teach him/her some simple stuff on your guitar.

And most important, DON'T give up. You'll get to the next step and the playing gets fun again.

Good luck.

/Missen

If you love what you do, there's no need to be good at it...

<table border="0" align="center" width="90%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td class="SmallText"><b>petermiss wrote on Fri, 13 April 2007 09&#58;52</b></td></tr><tr><td class="quote">
Hi Dezill!

When I level out I alwas call my friend or my sis and fix a simple jamming session. The friend is a semi pro and my sis knows less than me. <b>I've noticed that one great way of learning things is to teach your knowledge to someone else. You have to force your brain to think in new ways to teach and that gives you new perspective.</b>
</td></tr></table>

This is great advice.