You are not logged in.

#1 2013-08-27 00:18:41

beamer
THE METALIZER
From: Texas
Registered: 2006-07-30
Posts: 1391

Reloading a computer bites!

Last week my laptop was so full of crap that I had to just give up and wipe it back to factory shell.  It has taken me longer than normal to get everything back to usable programming.
Of course the auto updater wonít load the service packs so I had to manually force the loads for both of them.  Until this got done nothing I would want to load would work.    The downside of this is that I lost a great program for burning dvdís and now the free time is used up on its trial.  I have found many different converters but none like this (means another 50 bucks for slysoft or Nero) Also  and somewhat more importantly, my web cam lost its drivers! The cd that came with it has never worked and now V7 does not have any on its website!! So it went in the trash.  But I suppose now ill just get one that has auto focus so I wonít look so fuzzy on Skype LOLOLOL.  That being said, I sure have missed having our get togethers,, I know I missed being virtually at Amyís with Zurf, I just hope the time can be make at home soon.


Mal - Well, lady, I must say, you're my kinda stupid.
Mal - Jayne, your mouth is talking. You might wanna look to that
Kaylee - No power in the verse can stop me. BOOK-  you're going to burn in a very special level of hell. A level they reserve for child molesters and people who talk at the theatre.

Offline

 

#2 2013-08-27 01:09:44

Phill Williams
THE MODERATE MODERATOR
From: The Land Of Song
Registered: 2007-12-10
Posts: 2494
Website

Re: Reloading a computer bites!

i know how you feel. i've been using a lap top for about 6 years. the first was that old it was on XP! i up-graded to a used vista 3 years ago without any real problems. i use the lap top and a mini disc player in my stage act, alternating between each so i dont get any embarrassing gaps.

the lady i bought it from has trashed 4 new lap tops in the mean time, so i thought i was doing well. till tonight!

last night i had a 6 hour gig, half hour on half hour off, the lap top was running all that time so when i went to start up tonight it gave me the blue screen! i tried everything i could think of. eventually i got it into "safe mode" then did a "restore" and took it back a month. thank god it's now working (i hope) and some stuff i lost a week ago is back. so fingers crossed. the other option was to delete the whole hard drive which would mean losing all my backing tracks. then re-recording the lot. i think i'd retire first.

hope you can get it back up and running soon.

phill


There are two "L's" in Phill

Offline

 

#3 2013-08-27 06:02:13

beamer
THE METALIZER
From: Texas
Registered: 2006-07-30
Posts: 1391

Re: Reloading a computer bites!

Phill, Its back up. it just took longer than expected.  the best investment for you should be an external hard drive.  Put all your stuff on it.  if the computer goes down you dont loose your info.  they have gotten very affordable.2Terrbites for 120 or I just bought my kid a 1 Terrbite for coll for 70 bucks.that one is small enough I velcrowed it to her laptop. this would be ideal for your gig puter. its usb.  mount it to the lid near your usb port and your good to go.  I bought thisone but in black for my daughter http://www.walmart.com/ip/Toshiba-Canvi … /24032187.

My laptop (Vista) is also my desktop.  Its  a 7 yr old Dell and they still dont make a laptop as good as it has been. it was built like a tank and has 6 usb ports.  That is hard to find nowdays.  I wish I could update the processor and internal HD, but with that external,, man its kicking. (when helathy)


Mal - Well, lady, I must say, you're my kinda stupid.
Mal - Jayne, your mouth is talking. You might wanna look to that
Kaylee - No power in the verse can stop me. BOOK-  you're going to burn in a very special level of hell. A level they reserve for child molesters and people who talk at the theatre.

Offline

 

#4 2013-08-27 13:57:26

Zurf
Blunt but well meaning moderator
From: Virginia, USA
Registered: 2007-06-27
Posts: 5718

Re: Reloading a computer bites!

I'm glad you both got your computers back. There's a program called CCleaner you can download free that gets rid of temp files that clog your system and also repairs your registry. There's a paid version too with more features, but the free version has those two services. It works very well. Check compatibilities for your versions of Windows.

I second the suggestion of an external hard drive for backups. You also may want to consider a cloud account on Mozy or Amazon Prime.


"Forced means you're painting a train blue."  - Jets60
"If it comes from the heart and you add a few beers... it'll be awesome!" - Mekidsmom
"Don't ever apologize for what you have worked hard for." - Pete Benson
Official recipient of B chord amnesty.

Offline

 

#5 2013-08-27 20:23:03

beamer
THE METALIZER
From: Texas
Registered: 2006-07-30
Posts: 1391

Re: Reloading a computer bites!

I have used Ccleaner for years! love that program + I use piriforms defragler.


Mal - Well, lady, I must say, you're my kinda stupid.
Mal - Jayne, your mouth is talking. You might wanna look to that
Kaylee - No power in the verse can stop me. BOOK-  you're going to burn in a very special level of hell. A level they reserve for child molesters and people who talk at the theatre.

Offline

 

#6 2013-08-27 22:18:35

Phill Williams
THE MODERATE MODERATOR
From: The Land Of Song
Registered: 2007-12-10
Posts: 2494
Website

Re: Reloading a computer bites!

hi guys, Ccleaner...noted, i'll look for it when i get out of here. i already have an external HD, i use it on my PC, but i dont really need it there. prob is it has a recording prog on it that only works on XP, which i dont have any more, or likely to get in the future but i'm still hoping someone will come up with a compatibility prog...not going to happen i dont think...may just format and get a new one for the PC!

when i followed your link all i got was the walmart site with glass bowls and PS3 or something? FYI walmart is called ASDA in the UK.

thanks for the info

phill


There are two "L's" in Phill

Offline

 

#7 2013-08-27 23:15:01

beamer
THE METALIZER
From: Texas
Registered: 2006-07-30
Posts: 1391

Re: Reloading a computer bites!

Phill this is the pic
http://i.walmartimages.com/i/p/00/88/39/74/91/0088397491361_500X500.jpg


Mal - Well, lady, I must say, you're my kinda stupid.
Mal - Jayne, your mouth is talking. You might wanna look to that
Kaylee - No power in the verse can stop me. BOOK-  you're going to burn in a very special level of hell. A level they reserve for child molesters and people who talk at the theatre.

Offline

 

#8 2013-08-28 00:18:57

Phill Williams
THE MODERATE MODERATOR
From: The Land Of Song
Registered: 2007-12-10
Posts: 2494
Website

Re: Reloading a computer bites!

thanks beamer, mine is a Hewlet Packard 250 gig, which doesn't work too good with Windows 7, so i guess i will format it and use it on the LP.

thanks for Ccleaner, put it on the PC & LT both say thanks they feel much healthier now.

see it is true; chordians do help each other


There are two "L's" in Phill

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson