Topic: A question of tied notes...

Hi,
  I was taught to play tied notes with a down-up-down-up pick motion. I can play them much better just picking down, but I was wondering, is there some reason that down-up is "better'? Should I be practicing doing them down-up way?

"Milk is best drank out of a blue plastic cup."
"The LORD is my strength and my sheild, my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoices; and with my song will I praise him." Psalm 28:7

Re: A question of tied notes...

I have been playing guitar and involved in music for 55 years and I have never heard of a 'tied note'! Rope and music do not go together in my mind (well, not in a way that can be discussed here) lol.

I am looking forward to discovering what this is.

Roger

"Do, or do not; there is no try"

Standard technique for all notes, tied or not, is alternate picking (down up down up). However, I think Todown's first rule of music applies. If it sounds good, it is good.

Granted B chord amnesty by King of the Mutants (Long live the king).
If it comes from the heart and you add a few beers... it'll be awesome! - Mekidsmom
When in doubt ... hats. - B.G. Dude

By tied notes I mean like in written music where sometimes more than one 8th notes together have 1 bar connecting them, and 16th notes have two bars. They're "tied". I hope that makes sense!

"The LORD is my strength and my sheild, my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoices; and with my song will I praise him." Psalm 28:7

Thanks. Now I understand I have never heard that expression before, maybe it is an American idiom. In the UK it would be a quaver (1/8th note), a semi quaver (1/16th note,) a demi semi quaver (1/32nd note), a hemi demi semi quaver (a1'64th note)......... heck this is getting ridiculous lol

I am with Zurf, on the same string, the fastest and smoothest way to play short notes is with an up and down action.

Roger

"Do, or do not; there is no try"