Topic: Bridge over troubled lyrics?

I'm wondering about how often you folks use bridges in your songs.  As an example of a perfectly designed popular song, I offer "Country Roads" written by  Bill Danoff and Taffy Nivert with help from an obscure singer/songwriter named John Denver. Some of you may have heard of him. Anyway, "Country Roads" is structured,

Verse/Chorus
Verse/Chorus
Bridge
Chorus

I'm thinking that, had they wanted to, the writers could have written another verse, but in order to create variety and interest, they developed a bridge instead. As a beginner song writer, I never think about using a bridge--what about you guys? Do you include bridges and do you have examples of bridges, in your music or the music of others, that you really like?

Re: Bridge over troubled lyrics?

if you have a lot to say in your song then a bridge will break up the monotony of verse chorus verse chorus etc, which is why we tend to use solo's.
there's a good story of how the cream song badge was in the process of being written; george harrison wrote "bridge" but his writing was so bad eric clapton thought he'd named the song "badge" !

what has to be the best bridge ever is in queen's "bohemian rhapsody" the " i see a silhuetto" part, priceless

Ask not what Chordie can do for you, but what you can do for Chordie.

A bridge can can be a great transitional element in a song and can grab the listener's attention, especially if it contrasts well both musically and lyrically from other song sections. As songwriters, it gives us the opportunity to use a different melody, meter or chord structure as well as a different rhyme scheme.  Another favorite John Denver song of mine which uses a bridge is "Goodbye again" (verse/chorus, verse/chorus, bridge, verse/chorus)

In "Slip, Slidin' Away", Paul Simon uses a different strategy - (chorus/verse, chorus/verse, bridge, chorus/verse, chorus)