Topic: New to Chordie and new to music

Hi everyone,

As the title suggests i'm new to Chordie and to music in general which is totally shameful as i'm 41 years old.

Allow me to tell you a little about myself.
I'm a 41 year old man from the cold and wet North East of England.

I am a Lawyer working for a large firm of Solicitors here in the North east. I'm married to a truly beautiful woman with an equally gorgeous daughter. Life is pretty good i guess but there has always been something missing, music, any type of music as long as it evokes some kind of feeling inside.

For as long as i can remember i have wanted to play an instrument. I did not know what intrument just as long as it made music. However, to my shame i done nothing about it until very recently. My older brother who has always played the guitar encouraged me to try and learn this beautiful sounding instrument (for some anyway).

I have been taking lessons from my brother for the past 3 months and have discovered in me what i have been looking for all my life, a way of making music. Its getting better but slowly.

Anyway enough of my ramblings. I'm looking forward to getting to know everyone and learning from you all too.

What i have read on here really inspires me, learning its not just me with sore fingers and a rubbish strumming pattern.

Regards
Bri

Re: New to Chordie and new to music

Ah well done Bri,
I didn't pick up a guitar until I was 40, 2 yrs ago. It's never too late. I am a complete addict now, and miss it when I don't get 'round to playing a few tunes everyday.
I'm sure you will get along just great here, a really great bunch of people.
Good luck!
Les

aka ......   Boxer Petal....<3

Count me in the group of 40 somethings discovering or rediscovering the joys of making music. Seems to be quite a few of us out here. Welcome to chordie and have fun!

Jeff

Rule No. 1 - If it sounds good - it is good!

Thanks Boxer,

Its nice to have such a quick reply.