You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-10 12:19:42

Chris Ibbotson
Member
From: West Yorkshire
Registered: 2007-01-05
Posts: 41

Remove formatting

Hi All
Although I have a couple of songbooks on Chordie I do like to copy and paste some songs using Word into a file on my laptop. I am having trouble editing them there and trying to remove the formatting. Anyone else having this problem and is there a solution?
Thanks.

Offline

 

#2 2012-11-10 16:58:48

Roger Guppy
The Laid Back Moderator
From: Almancil, Algarve, Portugal
Registered: 2006-09-02
Posts: 4787
Website

Re: Remove formatting

Hi Chris,

A song that appears:

Mary's Lamb

by D.O.M.

[G]Mary had a [G]little lamb,
She [C]also [D]had a [G]bear,
I've [C]often [D]seen her [G]little [Em]lamb,
But [C]never [D]seen her [G]bare.

C D Em G
....without formatting would appear like this:

{t:Mary's Lamb}
{st: by D.O.M.}
[G]Mary had a [G]little lamb,
She [C]also [D]had a [G]bear,
I've [C]often [D]seen her [G]little [Em]lamb,
But [C]never [D]seen her [G]bare.

Is this really what you want? If so just press the chopro button next to the print button.

If you are wanting something different please write again.

Roger


“Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and life to everything.” -Plato
Growing old is mandatory; growing up is optional.
We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing. (George Bernard Shaw)
Do, or do not. There is no try. (Yoda)

Offline

 

#3 2012-11-10 17:14:59

jgreen
Senior Member
From: Northern BC (Canada)
Registered: 2007-03-05
Posts: 136

Re: Remove formatting

The formatting does make things interesting.  You might have better luck by going to the edit feature and there, copy and paste from the input screen.  The chords will be in-line though.  A chord editing program can help with that.
Jim

Offline

 

#4 2012-11-10 17:15:46

Chris Ibbotson
Member
From: West Yorkshire
Registered: 2007-01-05
Posts: 41

Re: Remove formatting

Hi Roger

Thanks for reply. Never used chopro but its better. I was trying to get copied song to appear as it does on wesite.

Regards

Chris

Offline

 

#5 2012-11-10 17:18:35

Chris Ibbotson
Member
From: West Yorkshire
Registered: 2007-01-05
Posts: 41

Re: Remove formatting

Thanks Jim, seems to be sorted now

Offline

 

#6 2012-11-10 17:38:03

Chris Ibbotson
Member
From: West Yorkshire
Registered: 2007-01-05
Posts: 41

Re: Remove formatting

Chopro is fine for copying, but when I try and transpose to a different key in chopro, then try and copy song, it reverts to original key.
Am I doing something wrong?
Thanks.

Offline

 

#7 2012-11-10 17:45:43

bensonp
Honoured Member
From: Tooele Ut
Registered: 2006-03-04
Posts: 3799

Re: Remove formatting

Are you saving the reformatted song in your sonbook before you print?


You can see all my video covers on http://www.youtube.com/bensonp1000
I have finally found happiness in my life.  Guitars, singing, beer and camping.  And they all intertwine wonderfully.

Offline

 

#8 2012-11-10 18:01:30

Chris Ibbotson
Member
From: West Yorkshire
Registered: 2007-01-05
Posts: 41

Re: Remove formatting

No, it works fine in my songbook. What I like to do is copy and paste songs using Word into a separate file on my laptop dont usually print them

Offline

 

#9 2012-11-10 18:17:26

Phill Williams
THE MODERATE MODERATOR
From: The Land Of Song
Registered: 2007-12-10
Posts: 2534
Website

Re: Remove formatting

hi chris,

i find "open office (which is free)" better than "word" for copying to my pc, i haven't tried it on a laptop. what i do is; get the right key etc, right click and hold as i shade in the whole song, open up open office into "text doc" click paste then i can edit to my hearts content. this is on windows 7, it may be different for other O S.

phill


There are two "L's" in Phill

Online

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson