Topic: BEGINNING

Hi folks,
I am new the site and am a complete novice. I want to start with easy stuff that I can sing along to. I know there are thousands of songs on this site alone but my problem is this. RYTHM ! I have a beginners book where it says it´s " down, down, up, down, up, down " or "1- 2-and 3-and 4". Thats fine for the songs in that book, but I would also like to try some on this site.
Please help ( and be gentle )

" Let the music keep our spirits high "................ Jackson Browne

Re: BEGINNING

A friend of mine has just started and has the same problem. It's hard to explain but if you listen to a song you can tap out the rythm. I caught my mate recently tapping out a beat with his hands as if they were drum sticks. What I told him to do was forget his left hand and tap out the beat with just his right. Generally, what you are tapping with your right hand are the down strokes and what you are tapping with the left are the up strokes. So if you sit on your left hand and let your right do all the work you should be pretty close to it.

I know this sounds crazy but it helps to get yourself into the rythm of the song. When you are strumming out a song the guitar is, basically,  the rythm section.

I hope this helps because explaining rythm is always going to be hard.

I'll now sit back and let my little theory be torn to shreds.

Keep at it!

Al V

Is anything really made up of zeros and ones??

Hello jnra1 and welcome to chordie's forum!  Rhythm is one of those things that comes with experience (practice practice practice).  Don't be afraid to just thrash away at it and experiment boldly.

If you get too hung up on making it sound exactly like a particular recording, then you will always be a little too timid to have fun.  Chordie's transposing tool is very good for moving songs into a comfortable key - so use it whenever you can.

Here is songbook that has several really fun & easy songs.
"3-Chord Rock & Roll Relics" might suit your needs: