1 (edited by Randall53 2015-05-11 17:07:18)

Topic: Adding strap button on a Martin D15M

Hello. I'm new to Chordie, but really like the site so far!  I do have a question however. <grin>

I have a Martin D15M that I've had just a few months. I simply love this guitar and it's hard to set it down. I do play some standing up and this guitar only has a strap button on the bottom. I now have a Martin leather strap behind the nut, but this puts the guitar a bit to high and I have a long strap extended out all the way. Has anyone had a button added at neck base of one of these? I'm really nervous about this and I'd like opinions if anyone would like to share. There's a leather shop close to me and I'm considering having a leather strap exactly like the one I have made that's maybe 3" longer, but I'd really like to have another strap button on the neck base if it's safe to do.....and I mean VERY SAFE to do....LOL.  Thanks for any comments.

Re: Adding strap button on a Martin D15M

Welcome to the forums Randall! 

I can feel your concern, and I'm sure lots of others do too!  Give this thread a day, and you'll have a LOT of well thought out opinions.  smile 

I personally say, "go for it" but then... I have a Martin 000-15M and don't have a button on the neck myself.  My custom strap wraps around the headstock (by the nut like yours).  My husband did install a pick up in it, which included drilling out the end pin hole a bit more.  It was VERY SCARY to watch!  In the end, all went well.  I imagine with the right placement everything would work out fine on your end too.  Maybe take it to a local guitar shop and let someone else do the dirty deed though.  I don't think I could do it myself (not because I'm not mechanically inclined, but because I'd be too scared to damage my baby - which would likely make me slip up and actually damage it!).  Good luck, keep us informed!

Amy

Art and beauty are in the eyes of the beholder.