Topic: Guitar set up

I purchased an accoustic guitar 3 months ago, it cost £120 so pretty much a budget model.  I got it from a pretty reputable, well known music store, I spoke to the salesman and explained I was a total novice having only played for a few weeks on a borrowed classical.  He pulled a few different models out and played them all and advised the best one, I then played a few chords and that was it.

I am really happy with it and my progression has been pretty good, I've gone through the blistered fingers and I really feel everything is comng together, all I need now is a half decent voice and I'd even consider playing for family and friends.

Anyhow, I was scanning the forum here and came along a thread on adjusting the action but was certain that my "budget" model would not be adjustable, however when I looked onto the soundhole, sure enough there was the truss rod! 

I measured the action on the 12rd frett and it was 3.5mm so I decided to lower it a little.  I'm a bench joiner by trade so I felt confident in doing this but when I tightened the rod it was totally loose!  It finally started to "bite" after half a turn and eventually I got the action to 2.75mm.  I re-tuned and the guitar now sounds awsome, much crisper, clearer and my fingers are totally pain free, even the F and Bm are clear (It still takes me 10 secs to arrange my fingers tho!).

Anyway, my question is, should I have been advised of this when I purchased the guitar and should the shop have offered to have lowered it, it took me 5 mins taking extra care so I guess the shop could have done it in half that time?  I went to a shop rather than purchase online because I'd have thought I'd have been advised on the set up?

Epiphone EJ200  -  Epiphone SG400  -  Fender Strat Blacktop.
Blackstar HT 40 Club  -  Vox VT30 - Behringer ACX ultracoustic 1000

Re: Guitar set up