Topic: Cheating with chords? Newbie guitar choice?

UBER newbie here!  I was working on learning some chords last night and my son brought out his guitar and his "baby book".  It's from First Act... basically for little kids to learn guitar.  He started asking WHY I was doing what I was doing.  So I explained to him the chord I was attempting to play was a G... and of course he again said, WHY?  I showed him the chord chart from Chordie and he showed me what was in HIS kids book.  It's just a simple 3rd fret 1st string ... just strum the bottom three strings.  I could clearly hear that it's a G with the bass notes left out... and his C Chord is also a simple one string fretted and bass notes left out as well.  Soooo here's the question.  Is it advisable to start out with his "baby chords" while my fingers are toughening up and I can feel like I've actually been able to make a decent sound come out of the guitar???  OR... am I hurting myself more in the long run by not learning the chord "properly"???

Also... I'm using my husband's guitar... I feel very awkward like the body is wayyyy too big for me, to the point that holding it like a classical guitar is actually far more comfortable.  I can't get myelf around the guitar to see the fretboard while holding it.  It feels like the strings are too close together up on the neck, but stretching to reach some of these chords is difficult (I guess I have little FAT fingers... I don't know... although also I still need to cut my nails and I think that'll help a lot).  I know I need to go to the muisc store and try some guitars out and get one that is just for me... I think I like the idea of nylon strings, although I really am not going to play classical style music... I just want to strum out some campfire songs and such (of course I'd LOVE to play classical music, but that'd be possible maybe in a few YEARS... there's a LOT to learn there)... can you put nylon strings on an acousitc steel string guitar?