Topic: EXP vs Elixirs

Just wondering who has played both and what your opinions are..... 
I've been using elixirs for the last 18 months or so but just bought a bulk set of EXPs to try out. Hopefully they'll work well as I've got 17 packs on the way smile I'll offer up my views when they get here Tuesday.

[b][color=#FF0000]If your brain is part of the process, you're missing it. You should play like a drowning man, struggling to reach shore. If you can trap that feeling, then you have something.
[/color][/b]         [b]Peace of mind. That's my piece of mind...[/b]

Re: EXP vs Elixirs

Heya Pix,

I think you will find some guitars they sound better on than others, my Yairi sounds good with both elixirs and EXP'S  . I honestly think tho the EXP's have a little more clarity and maybe a bit brighter. On the HD-28 I don't use Elixirs. I put a set on and didn't like them and I have tried Exp's also but I think it sounds best with Martin SP strings. On my Masterbilt Epi it likes both elixers and exp's.

I honestly can't tell you what are the best between the two. I am speaking for the Elixir Polywebs and I do not like the Nano-web

the polywebs start fraying but they last a long time even tho they look bad, I have a set of EXP"S on my Yairi and I just did recording using a pedal into Audacity and it was really nice and clean.

Later, Wayne P

Thanks Wayne!
How about longevity? Did they last about the same?
I agree with Martins not liking elixirs. I tried them on my D18 and quickly went back to SP mediums.

[b][color=#FF0000]If your brain is part of the process, you're missing it. You should play like a drowning man, struggling to reach shore. If you can trap that feeling, then you have something.