Topic: Beginner class ideas..

Well I just got off the phone with the pastor from a local church. They have 10-12 people (probably more once the classes get started) interested in learning guitar and he wants me to start offering a group class on Saturdays at the church. I've taught private (one on one) lessons for about 6 months now but this is going to be my first group class. If anyone here teachs groups or have learned in a group, I'd like to hear your class routine. This is going to be different from what I'm used to and I'm looking for ideas to get the most info across to a group. Also If anyone has any good (basic) church songs they'd like to recommend, I'd be thankful. The only one I know is "Amazing Grace" and the preacher would prefer it if I stick to religous content... From what I understand the majority of the class is absolute beginners... Thanks in advance for any tips! I'm trying to get my lesson plans in order for this Saturday smile -Pix

[b][color=#FF0000]If your brain is part of the process, you're missing it. You should play like a drowning man, struggling to reach shore. If you can trap that feeling, then you have something.
[/color][/b]         [b]Peace of mind. That's my piece of mind...[/b]

2 (edited by mekidsmom 2009-10-27 13:12:48)

Re: Beginner class ideas..

This is one that we sang in youth group a lot when I was going to a non-denominational church... there's not too much to it, but nice and fairly "easy" chords (after a few classes):  http://www.chordie.com/chord.pere/?url= … ranspose=0

Here's how it sounds:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RGcb7alSk0