1 (edited by naolslager 2009-12-15 13:24:17)

Topic: Fretting the Epiphery: The year of Misdirection?

For almost a year now I have been attempting to become a “very good" , self-taught guitar player. I’ve memorized approximately fifteen (open) chords and can progress through them reasonably well. In fact I can construct snippets of a few songs and WAS quite pleased with myself.

All along I knew I’d have to conquer moveable shape (barre) chords most likely beginning with the “F"  (1st position, E shape) and could feel the barre chord epiphery approaching. In fact I am VERY close with this particular one. In the meantime I was reading books about the “logic"  of the fretboard and yesterday I experienced an epiphery but not the one I expected. Instead of suddenly being able to play the mighty “F"  and lay aside my “Fmaj7"  cheat for the time being, I realized that maybe the barre chords should have come first! And if this is true have I been misdirecting my time for the last year? I now fight dejection as I stagger around trying to recompose myself for continued time with steel and wood.

Questions.
1.    Was the guitar designed with the moveable shape chords in mind? (Some of my readings seems to indicate so.)
2.    Are open chords merely shortcuts foisted on would-be musicians as easy alternatives to encourage proliferation of the species?
3.    Should I have started with the five moveable shapes?
4.    Must I master them all to achieve my goal of becoming a “very good"  guitar player?
5.    What order should I approach them?
6.    What else do I not know but should?