Topic: Strings too far from neck?

I am fairly new to playin guitar trying to teach myself.  I have a cheapo acoustic for now and the strings are too far off the neck i have trouble playing bar chords becasue of this.  How can i fix it?

Re: Strings too far from neck?

Hey Craig58, seriously think about upgrading to a better playing guitar. Maybe one that's not necessarily pretty or scratch free etc., but one that you can play more easily. If you keep at this and have the necessary desire you will upgrade anyway. Be creative in your search for another. Trust me- you'll be glad you did. Another option is to have it looked at professionally and they can determine whether it is feasable to adjust the action. There's only so much that can be done inexpensively to the cheaper models. Hope this helps, I'm sure other Chordians will also help with advice. Good luck and welcome to Chordie!   Mike

Our intuitions serve us well

Check out this thread http://www.chordie.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=14133  I am a complete noobee myself and I'm working on getting my $100 guitar set up myself.

tonyespo / 63 year old NEWBEE

I better learn to play fast, I'm already an old fart.

4 (edited by mercer 2010-05-24 11:41:48)

Hi Craig, make sure the neck is straight,then measure the distance at the 12th fret, should be about 3/16ths, if it isn't slacken the strings and remove the saddle, take off about 1 or 2 mm by rubbing against sandpaper on a flat surface. Only remove small amounts at any one time other wise you endup with rattles and buzzes. If you have not done anything like this before leave to some who has! all the best John. P.S you can always sell a good guitar, but you can't sell a bad one!

This is known as the 'action' of the guitar - in your case, it has a high action. There's normally a truss rod that runs down the neck, which can be turned via an allen key to lower the action. you can normally access it at the top of the neck, by the head of the guitar