Topic: Recommend string weight for me

Hello All

I am playing a short while and have a question for more experienced players out there.

I have an encore acoustic guitar ,I have changed the strings a few times now. I played a friends guitar and the strings were lighter ,hence easier on the fingers.

I have trouble getting any barre chords ,except 2 strings on f major etc. Been playing occasionly for about 3 years ,pain is not getting easier for barre chords on the fingers.

Can you recommend the lightest weight of string for me?

thanks,
Phil

Re: Recommend string weight for me

.11's. 

- Zurf

Granted B chord amnesty by King of the Mutants (Long live the king).
If it comes from the heart and you add a few beers... it'll be awesome! - Mekidsmom
When in doubt ... hats. - B.G. Dude

3 (edited by tonyespo 2010-05-18 17:37:01)

I went with Elixir polyweb extra light 010 - 047  I'm not very experienced but these strings are easy on the fingers and sound good.  They are a bit pricey.

tonyespo / 63 year old NEWBEE

I better learn to play fast, I'm already an old fart.

tonyespo wrote:

I went with Elixir polyweb extra light 010 - 047  I'm not very experienced but these strings are easy on the fingers and soon good.  They are a bit pricey.

I agree with Tony, the Elixer Nano web lights are also good. There almost like a nylon.

I also use Elixer Nano Web light strings....and get your action (strings lowered) if they are too high....that will help alot! I do find you can't beat hard on Elixer light strings, they will break easily. If you play that way, go with medium or medium lights.

Life isn't about how to survive the storm, But how to dance in the rain... smile