1 (edited by naolslager 2010-10-30 13:38:50)

Topic: Lessons: To Be or Not to Be

I know someone here at Chordie can prop me up with motivation and/or advice.

I've been learning to play for almost two years and I am not satisfied with my progress although I have made quite a bit. I think my problem is not lack of ambition or dedication but the lack of a plan. (I LOVE practicing!) Therefore I am contemplating lessons so that I will have someone to help me set goals and someone I am accountable to.

Can someone offer me a few pointers on what to look for in a instructor? Invariably the first question they ask is what type of music do I want to play and I usually cannot answer this very well. I suppose I should print out the content of my iPod for disucssion?

I will appreicate any advice. Thanks Chordie friends.
dj

Re: Lessons: To Be or Not to Be

Hi naol, I had a piano teacher, who taught me what I wante to know, whch was jazz. I didn't leard how to read music but lead sheets. So it really depends on what you want to do. Also, the best way to lean is find some one who plays better then you also a good way to learn is get in a band

Hi nao,I think we all go through these periods of no insperation. I have stopped afew times and picked my guitar up again and found I really missed playing, I have also changed the music I was playing,I got into alot of fingerpicking and also into flaminco music. I think if you feel the need you might get a teacher for awile. Take a look at where your music is and what inspires you to pick up your guitar.

my papy said son your going too drive me too drinking if you dont stop driving that   Hot  Rod  Lincoln!! Cmdr cody and his lost planet airman