Topic: Critique a piece of.....

Hello,

I was practicing my fast strumming last evening with a song called "If My Heart Was A Car". I decided to capture the shining moment on video. I know I am mutilating chords and my timing is all messed up. My wife and daughter both say it is too loud and of course sounds nothing like the song. Got to love the brutal honesty. What do you think? Don't worry about hurting my feelings.....I know its pretty bad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wUBKGxUXVQI

This is what I was trying to achieve:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttVgAZVTNac

Re: Critique a piece of.....

Honestly... I liked yours better than the original - I couldn't bear 30 seconds of that. To each his own I guess

Rule No. 1 - If it sounds good - it is good!

I prefer slower music myself but I have often heard playing slower and more accurately will improve your speed playing. I guess its down to muscle memory and accuracy between chord changes.

I am a newbie myself and the main thing is at least you are trying smile

Not my cup of tea, but you did ask me to be honest. First off, I give you high praise for posting it for everyone. I have never recorded myself, so for that I say good job. The strumming pattern(and there is one on his recording) is not even close. I agree with soccerbrit, slow it down and get it right before you try and speed it up.

Since I'm such a lousy lead guitarist, I have learned to finger the chords and then pick several individual strings in the chord to somewhat give the effect of some lead licks.  What I see in your picking is pretty much that you're hitting all six strings all the time with every stroke.  This is not uncommon for the "less experienced" guitar players.  It's not easy to hit only the strings you want to hit, especially when you're standing up in front of a crowd, but it can be done.  Practice! Practice! Practice!