Topic: Stuck in a RUT

Hey all,

I've been playing for about 3 years and I taught myself from scratch...the last thing I learned was the Minor Pentatonic scale and some brief improvisation on it.  I learned that more than a year ago, and while I have refined my skills in that area, I have not developed anything new.  I find myself with less and less time to practice and I wanted to shoot the question out to the community.  Where do I go next?  How do I get out of this rut?  It's fun to improvise over blues backing tracks but I want to expand my range of knowledge of the instrument.  Any help would me immensely appreciated.  Thanks!

Chris

Re: Stuck in a RUT

Challange yourself. Are you playing with yourself, too much? Quit it. Get out and play with others. See what and how they are doing certain things. Ask questions, ask for help, you would be surprised just how much you can learn just by playing with other players. FInd someone or a group that has the time to have a regularly sdheduled jam sessions. Find out what type of music everyone likes. Also, welocme to Chordie.

Nela

Thanks for the tips NELA...it's true that I don't get out much, my practicing has been reduced to playing behind backing tracks constantly.  Would you suggest a place to look for groups to jam with?  I don't really know where to start.  And thanks for the warm welcome smile

Bandmix or craigslist.I have had good luck with the musicians section on craigslist.If you just want to jam with others,specify that in your post.If you are planning to make it big.Say so.There are all kinds of different people on there.Just be cautious of who you deal with.I havent had any problem but still be careful who you deal with.

Enjoy Every Sandwich
Nothing In Moderation  -- Live Fast. Love Hard. Die Young And Leave A Beautiful Corpse. -- Buy It Today. Cry About It Tomorrow.