Topic: Newbie greeting

HELLO CHORDIANS!  (btw I like that moniker LOLOL)

About me:
     My Name is Scott and I am 43.  Beamer is a nick name I picked up about 15 yrs ago from my father in law during my very first motorcycle rally. (As you can see “Beam me up Scotty" just fit)  I also have an original style command badge on my vest LOLOL!  So there are 2 of my other interest.
     I have been a music fan since the age of 8.  I had a neighbor who played guitar.  She was in her 20's and when my brothers and she would light a camp fire she always would play.  I thought her 12 string Ovation was the coolest thing I had ever seen.  Kiss was my very first RNR band and it went on from there.
     It was not till I was 16 and moved to NC from WV that I finally found a person willing to help me learn.
     Chuck was infinitely patient.  He was self taught and very good!  I got a book learned about 24 open chords and the different bar shapes.  Let’s just say I have been a frustrated player ever since.  I have never really learned theory, or lead.  I can play some of the basic chord keg rock.  I love my heavy metal (classic, 80’s!  And newer stuff) to this day.  I also love the classic songwriters (Harry Chapin, James Taylor, and Gordon Lightfoot).
     Everything I have learned about music has been stubborn determination chiseled into my granite head!  I have almost gotten rid of all my stuff many times over the last 25 years because I cannot make my AX sing the way I want it to.  I let it sit for a bit, then pick up my guitar turn my amp up and hit E5 on the 7th fret.  Start some palm muting and then I forget about how I can’t play Stairway or Eruption.  I remember that it’s about having fun and writing what’s inside.