Topic: tuning issue

Trying to tune my made in China plywood classical guitar using this http://www.proguitartuner.com/guitar-tuner/ tuner with my laptop inbuilt mic. It has always worked nicely, but lately I seem to have a lot of trouble with the bottom strings, B in particular, it has gone really stubborn. When I get close enough to B, it starts to behave in an odd way. It starts off ringing as B for half a second or something and than jumps to F sharp (always exactly F sharp, never anything else). I am a bit on the tone deaf side and total noob, but it sounds weird even to my ear (it sounds, well, broken)
Could the problem just be in dead old strings? (they should be dead old from what I know about the history of the instrument, it's the one that goes around our church so everyone has fiddled around it but I guess no one has bothered to invest in new strings, neither have I) Or is it something natural? Or is it something bad?

Re: tuning issue

Strings do not last forever, I believe you should put on some new strings, it can't hurt and they are not that expensive. medium or medium/lights should serve the purpose.

Live in the "now" - a contentment of the moment - the past is gone - the future doesn't exist - all we ever really have is now and it's always "now".

bluejeep wrote:

Strings do not last forever, I believe you should put on some new strings, it can't hurt and they are not that expensive. medium or medium/lights should serve the purpose.

Well, I took a closer look and found the problem, and, yes, it's strings. They are actually so worn they are starting to go fluffy around the nut. Silly me, how could I be so blind big_smile So I guess off to the store I go. Thank you! I learn something new every day smile

Let us know what strings you decide to put on.  Always curious as to what strings others use.

Live in the "now" - a contentment of the moment - the past is gone - the future doesn't exist - all we ever really have is now and it's always "now".