Topic: Classical to - well, what?

I started playing less than a year ago.  Just for fun.  I'm a bass player who has never been able to make sense of what the other two strings were for.  Anyway, I've gotten enough into guitar that my basses are getting dusty.  I'm not serious about, just doing it as a lark, but it's fun and I expect that I'll keep doing it ad infinitum.  I get ten minutes to an hour of practice most days.  I've got young kids, a job, other hobbies, etc.  Life. 

Now, what I'm playing on is a Yamaha classical given to me when I helped a friend move and he found it in the back of his late wife's closet.  I like it fine.  But, it's really hard to play barre chords for me.  I'm an adult man, but I've got bony little girl fingers.  When I try a barre chord, my knuckles get in the way because either my fingers are too short or my neck is too wide.  I figure it would be easier to get a guitar with a narrower neck than to lengthen my fingers or file down my knuckles. 

My playing is mostly fingerpick style (very, very beginner on that) and rhythm strumming (beginner on that though bass playing comes in handy for understanding rhythm and fills). 

What should I be looking for?  Am I on the right track?

So far, I've liked the Breedlove Atlas concert size (a little smaller than dreadnaught)

I've liked the Baby Taylor (but would prefer a full size guitar)

I've like a Martin model that's all laminate rather than solid wood but it sounds good to me

I've like a Seagull but thought the highs were a little jangly and the lows weren't fleshed out enough.  That could be my playing, though.

All fairly low end models in those manufacturers lines.  Thanks in advance for any suggestions or comments, especially about features for the kind of playing I do and want to do (which is more fingerpick).

- Zurf

Granted B chord amnesty by King of the Mutants (Long live the king).
If it comes from the heart and you add a few beers... it'll be awesome! - Mekidsmom