Topic: whatmakes a hit?

ok so I been hitting the pickle juice and musicating (thinking) , I have been posting songs here for a few months now because I wanted the opinions of someone other than friends and family on my song writing.( which by the way the way I feel like I have made a lot of new friends here). my pickle juice induced observations are this ,some of the songs that I thought were really good got the fewest comments some that I thought were so so seem to be the most liked by others. go figure. ok my glass is empty curious to hear others thoughts on this while refill my glass

out of tune out of key and out of touch

Re: whatmakes a hit?

You got my attention with that last song. I must admit that I haven't listened your others but you can bet I'll listen in the morning with a fresh pot of coffee.
I don't profess to be a any kind of big deal or music expert. I love music and am grateful to be able to strum some chords and sing in key most of the time.

Thanks Chordie for the years of music and advise.

Mojo
I`m with you on this one,often i write a song & think(foolishly)
hey thats not bad,so i put it out there because i`m kinda proud of it.
I`ve got a couple of friends that say kind things,but at the end of the day
nobody else likes it.
Not to worry though i`m having a ball and i guess thats what it`s all about.
If one person likes it, thats a real bonus, it`s all been worth while.
good luck & keep writing! keep the pickle juice flowing.

The King Of Audio Torture

IMO, a hook makes a hit, but then you have to make sure to go back over the rest of the text and make sure that everything you wrote leads up to that hook and makes it vaild. Running parallell is the music itself.

Here's some inspirational music for my pal Mo'

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lXmsLe8t_gg

smile smile smile

Bill

Epiphone Les Paul Studio
Fender GDO300 Orchestral - a gift from Amy & Jim
Rogue Beatle Bass
Journal: www.wheretobud.blogspot. com