Topic: transition to 12 string

Hi everyone sorry haven`t  posted on the forum for ages never seem to get time to get onto my computer ! I have been playing around for a couple of years on my acoustic can manage to knock out a few tunes , I have just acquired a 12 string was wondering if there was a way to adapt to a 12 string or is it the same old story of plenty of practice .
thanks

Re: transition to 12 string

Hello onenumber, I'd have to say it's the same old story of practice, practice and more practice. I think you will find it easier as time goes by, I mostly play my 6 string but it's always a bit of a treat to let those 12 strings ring out now and again. There are those who say tune the 12er down a step or two but I like to keep both guitars in standard tuning.

Live in the "now" - a contentment of the moment - the past is gone - the future doesn't exist - all we ever really have is now and it's always "now".

Same old story.

Granted B chord amnesty by King of the Mutants (Long live the king).
If it comes from the heart and you add a few beers... it'll be awesome! - Mekidsmom
When in doubt ... hats. - B.G. Dude

If the 12er is set up correctly I find no difficulty in changing from one to the other. When I am back in the UK it is the 12er I have there that is always in my car. smile

Roger

"Do, or do not; there is no try"

90% of the time I'm playing 6 strings. It takes me a few songs to get adjust to the wider neck on the 12. I find myself missing the strings when reaching for those fill-in notes between chords. But after a few songs it comes around.

Same as UJB. I miss a few strings due to the wider neck. Also it can be difficult to barre the thinner strings in between the bass strings. I tend to use the capo and open chords.
But I do like the sound when you let the 12er ring out.

Thick as two short planks

^^^^^^^ What keepitreal said^^^^^^^

Sorry to say I haven't played any of my guitars in a long while, so now I have to get callouses again.