Topic: what model should i get?

im going to get an electric guitar, but im having a hard time deciding what guitar to get, im a beginner, so it doesn't have to be expensive. also, what's the best type of amp???

Re: what model should i get?

1) Go to guitar shop, pick up guitars, learn about weight, shape and feel. Some electrics are seriously heavy/uncomfortable.
2) Avoid Fender and Gibson - expensive. Avoid Squier - cheap. Check out Yamaha, Ibanez, Lag, Tokai...
3) Ask to try out some guitars, don't try to play anything fancy, just listen for a good sound.
4) Look to buy a basic 10W practice amp; volume, tone, overdrive/gain.
5) If you really want crazy metal effects a Line6 Pod or Vamp2 will burn away the hours.
6) Consider starting with an acoustic, they have an easier learning curve but it's a matter of taste, if you've gotta rock....

'The sound of the city seems to disappear'

cytania wrote:

1) Go to guitar shop, pick up guitars, learn about weight, shape and feel. Some electrics are seriously heavy/uncomfortable.
2) Avoid Fender and Gibson - expensive. Avoid Squier - cheap. Check out Yamaha, Ibanez, Lag, Tokai...
3) Ask to try out some guitars, don't try to play anything fancy, just listen for a good sound.
4) Look to buy a basic 10W practice amp; volume, tone, overdrive/gain.
5) If you really want crazy metal effects a Line6 Pod or Vamp2 will burn away the hours.
6) Consider starting with an acoustic, they have an easier learning curve but it's a matter of taste, if you've gotta rock....

Step 3.5) After you find a favorite guitar type, go to http://www.rondomusic.net and get your guitar from there for 1/4 the price of the regular version.

smile
Dm

"Talent instantly recognizes genius,
but mediocrity knows nothing more than itself."

-Sir Arthur Conan-Doyle

i've got a squire stratocaster that i got a few years ago, personally found it to have a good sound for the money, and it was good to learn on.