Topic: Strum Patterns

Hi all.

I'm new to playing guitar & am using various teaching programmes for the basics.  However, I'm also keen to jump in & have a go strumming a couple of well-known songs which is why I have registered on Chordie.com.

But something is really perplexing me.  Why are the strumming patterns not shown with the chords & lyrics.  It's not just on here, when I've looked elsewhere it's the same.  As a beginner I feel I need to know the strumming pattern for a particular song to have any chance of giving it a shot, otherwise I'm just strumming 'anything' aimlessly.  I've tried to listen to the original song, whatever it happens to be, but my ear isn't experienced enough to know what the pattern is from listening & the other sounds in a song make it difficult to hear the pattern as a beginner.  Is there some reason why the basic strum patterns are not included along with the chords & lyrics?  It would seem to be sensible to have them included.

The particular songs I'd like to have a go at strumming for fun are:

Take It Easy - The Eagles
Bad Moon Rising - Creedence Clearwater Revival
Early Mornin Rain - Gordon Lightfoot

Does anyone know the patterns for any of these?  Is there anywhere where these can be found online?

Many thanks

Rumble Doll

Re: Strum Patterns

Strum anything aimlessly then.  Or aim it yourself.  And don't presume that just because there's a chord arrangement that it's necessarily 'correct' either. 

Early Morning Rain is on Chordie - I've got it in my Songbook.  I haven't checked for the other two, but I'd be surprised if they aren't around.

- Zurf

Granted B chord amnesty by King of the Mutants (Long live the king).
If it comes from the heart and you add a few beers... it'll be awesome! - Mekidsmom
When in doubt ... hats. - B.G. Dude