Topic: Finger calluses

My girlfriend complains about my chord fingers that are always callused. Im not a complete novice with the guitar, but the tips of my chord fingers remain raw and rough. Any suggestions?

Re: Finger calluses

keep playing guitar get another girlfriend

"Growing old is not for sissies"

lol BRAVO ... well said Russell!

Electric:  Gibson Les Paul Studio, Schecter Omen 6, PRS SE Custom
Acoustic:  Fender Talman, Yamaha
Amp:  Fender Super Champ XD/Line6 Spider III 75

Dirrerent strokes for different folks. Have you tried using the other hand?

Nela

DPG,

What you can do to reduce the calluses is to use a wet file to remove some of the dead skin.  This will also allow your fingers to generate newer, tougher skin on your fingertips.  As you play more and more, the dead skin will ultimately get in the way, and you'll be either biting or filing them off.

You may want to, also, use moisturizer on your fingertips daily.  This will help keep your calluses a bit softer. 

If any of the above don't work, try Russell's suggestion!  Nonetheless, don't stop playing!

DPG wrote:

My girlfriend complains about my chord fingers that are always callused. Im not a complete novice with the guitar, but the tips of my chord fingers remain raw and rough. Any suggestions?

Hi DPG,

In the bedinning this feeling in my finger tips, nearly drove me nuts!   But i think your problem is more personal.

A small pumice stone cheap but effective. Use with water lightly!! I found a wet file just a wee bit  to rough.

The pumice  stone takes it down smoother with out losing all the time you spent building it up.

Russell Harding, I laughed so much at your reply!! I guess diplomacy isn't your middle name?

DPG just  may love this woman! lol

Old Doll.

Why Blend in with the Crowd ? When you were made to stand out !

7 (edited by arkady 2008-01-17 23:10:25)

DPG
If the lady can't stand a bit of rough well ...........:D
it goes with the territory

Lena