1 (edited by 06sc500 2008-02-04 02:29:48)

Topic: Anything to soloing besides practice?

Hey, I'm fairly new to the world of guitar solos.  I learned to solo on my acoustic, as I'm getting my first electric in about a month.  You don't hear acoustic solos very often, but after listening to Clapton Unplugged I decided to give it a try.  I was able to try soloing on an electric when I tried out my soon-to-be Dano Hodad last week.  Anyway, my question is, am I doing things right when I solo? I basically just move my fingertips from fret to fret-I try to finger chords if at all possible.  I know that there really is no "right way" of doing this, as Herman Li from Dragonforce solos with his hand on top of the fretboard.  I'm just wondering if there are any tricks or techniques I can use to make things a bit easier, or is good old practice makes perfect how it's done? Thanks

"A steering wheel don't mean you can drive, a warm body don't mean I'm alive"
Switchfoot

2 (edited by Russell_Harding 2008-02-04 03:47:08)

Re: Anything to soloing besides practice?

i think if you learn scales major and minor to start it will train your fingers and your mind as you get used to the different modes you will sudconciously remember them but it takes a lot of practice to be smooth and fluid but start with the basics first and progress one step at a time if you keep at it you will improve so.......practice basics you have to crawl before you can run

"Growing old is not for sissies"

Scales.  Then scales.  Then more scales.

And when you're done.

Scales.

Someday we'll win this thing...

[url=http://www.aclosesecond.com]www.aclosesecond.com[/url]

4 (edited by cytania 2008-02-04 13:10:55)

Solo is a chance for a guitarist to show-off, make some fireworks. How you do this is down to you.