Topic: Good guitar for beginner (child)

Hi there, I am a newbie around here, having never posted. By browsing over various posts, I can see that there are many people over here that know a lot more than I do concerning guitars. I have a nine year old son who would like to learn guitar. I don't think I'm ready to leave him alone with either of mine (a 1975 Gibson Hummingbird, and a 1979 Les Paul).  I have been checking Ebay for Baby Taylors, which seemed like it may be a good choice. What amazed me is how much they are selling for there. They are getting within 20 to 30 dollars of a new one, if you include the shipping charges. I'd like to spend a little as possible, but want a guitar easy enough for him to play, in the 300 dollars or less area. If anyone can give me their opinion, I would appreciate it.

Craig

Re: Good guitar for beginner (child)

I have recently bought a Sea Gull for my Son. They have great action and a decent sound. In addition the neck is fairly narrow so it is easier for smaller hands.  I went on the internet and googled top guitar for a learner and they recommended the Sea Gull.

I played it for a while myself and I really liked it, in fact the sound was very close to my Martin D-28.

Hey Craig , Welcome to chordie! I have a 9yr old son as well and I gave him my Takamini. It fits him perfectly and has a great sound for a smaller guitar. It sounds even better plugged in. These can be found occasionally on ebay for $150-$200 in mint used condition. I'd highly recommend them. Then you can borrow it for a travel guitar yourself..lol As far as even cheaper I got my other son (7 yrs old) an Indiana Colt (I believe the name is) Indiana is a devision (lower end) of morgan monroe. I was really impressed with it ,for the money ($55). If it was me I'd wait on the baby taylor for a year or so and make sure his intrest remains. then maybe go with a big baby (15/16 scale) taylor later on. Just my 2 cents.... Peace!