Topic: barre chords. help im awful

anybody got any little tricks or routines picked up from their teachers when it comes to practicing barre chords. im completely useless after a long time practicing and think i need to review my whole practice session especially when it comes to the switching and changing barres in general. im self taught which doesnt help either. in fact any little routines that have caused mass inprovement to others would be greatly apreciated if anybodys got any
cheers all

all you need in life are shoes and a guitar

Re: barre chords. help im awful

noise there are no shortcuts but there are gutiar tutorials (videos) that can make it easier for you to learn practice and pickup some pointers from videos good luck

"Growing old is not for sissies"

I have been playing 4 months now, just last night I was able to hit barred F with some consistancy.  I have been intensionally learning songs with F and B in them to 'force' myself to get comfortable with barring.  I also like to change the key of a simple song I already know with chords G, A and D, (easily done on Chordie) and practice playing it in F, G and C, complicating a simple song (for me) I already know and play well, just adds more of a challenge to an otherwise easy song.

See my post here:  http://www.chordie.com/forum/viewtopic. … 69&p=2 for how I did it.  It works, but I still have to think about it.

Good luck, and keep practicing.

"There's such a fine line between genius and stupidity."
                              --David St. Hubbins

on youtube the great teacher Justin Sandercoe has a video segment on barre chords.

when you first start, practice them higher up the neck (closer to the body of the guitar)

You have to forget about what other people say; when you're supposed to die, when you're supposed to be lovin'. You have to forget about all these things. You have to go on and be crazy. Craziness is like heaven.