Guitar Tabs, Chords and Lyrics
Major upgrade!! After one year development the new version of Chordie is now online! Please give feedback.

David Sneddon

Seven Years - Ten Weeks

Seven Years - Ten Weeks (2003)

David Sneddon (born 15 September 1978) is a Scottish singer, songwriter, musician and music producer of contemporary pop music. He took an unusual route into the music business via performing on stage and television and singing lead roles in stage musicals in Glasgow. He went on in 2002 to win the first series of the BBC’s music competition Fame Academy. He released his first single "Stop Living the Lie" in 2003 which was a number one hit single selling over 250,000 copies, making it the 12th highest selling single of 2003. Sneddon’s debut album Seven Years – Ten Weeks released in April 2003, reached No.5 in the UK Albums Chart. He achieved three more UK Singles Chart singles – "Don’t Let Go" (No. 3), "Best of Order" (No. 19) and "Baby Get Higher" (No. 39). His song "Baby Get Higher" was a hit on the dance floor for Almighty Records and a chart hit for VanVelzen in 2006, and also for Emin Agalarov.

In October 2003, he moved from being a pop star to working as a songwriter. In 2009 Sneddon signed to Sony/ATV Music Publishing as a songwriter and described his music as ’melody-driven indie pop’.

David Sneddon’s songs include Nate James ("The Message"). VanVelzen ("Baby Get Higher") Hurts ("Illuminated", "Blood, Tears & Gold, and "Silver Lining"), Matt Cardle ("Slowly", "Letters"), Lana Del Rey ("National Anthem"), Newton Faulkner ("Pick Up Your Broken Heart", "Soon"), Charlie Brown ("Dependency"), Greyson Chance ("Sunshine City Lights"), David Archuleta ("Don’t Run Away"), Shane Filan ("Everytime", "Today’s Not Yesterday") and Jessica Mauboy ("This Ain’t Love").

Sneddon works with James Bauer-Mein as "The Nexus" songwriting and music production partnership for high-profile and highly anticipated emerging artists in the US and the UK. They have written for – synthpop duo Hurts 2010 global multi platinum debut album Happiness – the songs "Illuminated" and "Blood, Tears & Gold" which were singles for Hurts in 2011. For 2010 The X Factor (UK) winner Matt Cardle’s album Letters and "Keep the Sun Away" for Morten Harket’s album Out of My Hands 2012. The song "National Anthem" was written by Lana Del Rey and The Nexus for her number one selling UK Albums Chart 2012 album Born to Die. Newton Faulkner’s Write It on Your Skin contained three Nexus songs – "Pick Up Your Broken Heart", "Soon" and "Feel" – made No.1 in 2012 UK Albums Chart. In April 2013 The Nexus became part of 365 Artists. They have built strong reputations as songwriters and they have worked and released with artists such as Hurts, Lana Del Rey, Newton Faulkner, Morten Harket, Will Young, Nicole Scherzinger, Olly Murs, Pixie Lott and Kristina Train. Shane Filan, formerly lead singer with Westlife released EP "Everything to Me" August 2013 which included, "Everytime" and "Today’s Not Yesterday", produced by The Nexus.