Guitar Tabs, Chords and Lyrics
Update 25:10. 13:00. Site is back up running again. Songbooks are recovered. Woring on getting search back up..

Matt Finish

Short Note

Short Note (1981)

Matt Finish are an Australian rock band formed in mid-1979 by singer-songwriter and guitarist Matt Moffitt (1956–2003) and drummer, composer and producer John Prior. The 1981 line-up of Moffitt, Prior, Richard Grossman on bass guitar and Jeff Clayton on rhythm guitar recorded their debut album, Short Note, which peaked at No. 14 on the Australian Kent Music Report Albums Chart. The title song, "Short Note", peaked at No. 33 on the related Singles Chart and became a standard on Australian radio stations. Grossman was later a member of Divinyls and Hoodoo Gurus. On 13 August 2003 Moffit died in his sleep, aged 46. From 2006 Prior has continued Matt Finish with various line-ups.

In 2004 "Short Note" was covered by Wendy Matthews and appeared on her album Café Naturale. It was listed in Triple M Network’s 2005 Best Songs of the Eighties poll, it appeared in the 2007 Australian feature film The Final Winter and on numerous compilation albums including Sony BMG’s Essential Australian Rock released in April 2008; and a new recording of the track appears on Matt Finish’s 2008 anthology album 1978-2008.