Topic: intimidating

Hi. I am new to this forum, but am familiar with chordie's great selection of music.  I started playing guitar about a year ago.  I play an acoustic  Washburn D-10S and just a few months ago bought another Washburn acoustic/electric WD10SCE.  I love them both and have had the opportunity of playing or "jamin" with a large group in my area.  It has been a great time and such a confidence booster.  I am going to be playing and singing with a few people on the weekend, I am scared to death....haha..I have been told I have a pretty good voice, but I can't seem to project it out.  Then to make matters worse..I can't seem to be able to play and sing together in front of people, but I can do it alone or just with one or two people.  Any suggestions??  Also I have started to take some more lessons to learn to pick...this is all pretty scary as I am over 50 and a female...If you have any suggestions I'd be greatful to hear them...thanks:)

Re: intimidating

Hi Alice and Welcome to Chordie!

Everybody has those moments, so don't feel like you are the only one.  You have been playing with at least a large group, so you have had the "cover" of the others....  you said that one or two is alright, so IF one or the other of those folks is also present, focus on them to bring yourself into that "comfort zone".

As for the playing and singing together part, that comes with practice and knowing the music well enough to remember all the lyrics and chords so you are not as concerned about losing your place in the piece.  There is no harm in having your music sheets on a stand in front of you for quick reference as needed.  I think I'm not alone in carrying a huge binder around in the gig bag, it's the next best thing to rehearsals when that is not an option.  Jam sessions tend to be more of a learning exercise and social gathering so nobody expects a concert quality performance anyway.

Take Care and thanks for posting;
Doug
(just an over 50 guy)