Topic: Introduction and Carpol Tunnel?

Just joined. I was introduced to the forum by unclejoesband from another forum of a passion we both share. I haven't spent much time learning the forum yet, perhaps 20 minutes, but like what I see. I spent some time in the Song of the Month forum and love the Feb choices. Love Amie and was working on it before I had to put the guitar up. The Other Stings forum was kind of a let down as far as participation. Whet to it to see if you had any banjo players.
I started playing in the late sixties. I have played rock, country and bluegrass over the years.
About 2 years ago, my carpol tunnel in my left hand severe and I couldn't play (not that I could play before). I had it operated on 10 days ago. Before the operation I couldn't make a tight fist. Ten days after the operation, I can already make a pretty tight fist. I hope to pick the guitar and banjo up in the next month and brush off the rust. See if the figures want to move
Have any players experience carpol tunnel and did it help fretting after surgery?

Re: Introduction and Carpol Tunnel?

Welcome Marshel. Glad to have you aboard.

The CT surgery should have you feeling better in no time

Welcome to chordie Marshel. I have no experience with carpal tunnel, but I wish you the best of luck!

Rule No. 1 - If it sounds good - it is good!

Welcome aboard Marshel.

In 1988 I had carpal tunnel surgery on both hands.  After months of sleeping sitting up in a chair at night so I could shake my hands every hour or so to relieve the pain, I suddenly had no pain at all.  It took several months before I felt I had full strength in my hands but anything that required using my hands/manipulating my fingers was instantly easier.  I hope the surgery provides as much relief for you as it did for me. My only regret was waiting 12 years to have the surgery after the symptoms started.

DE

I want to read my own water, choose my own path, write my own songs

Welcome to Chordie Marshel,