Topic: tips to avoid this

Hello every one,, I need some advice,

I have like 8 months trying to play guitar , I can play a few tunes now,, but
I hear my music sound all the same , I guess it's part of the process

the thing is that I have a friend at church who plays in the chorus, and his music sound so repetitive  he says that he has been playing all his life and he is  like 50 year old  but until now , he does not know any song by memory,,
and to be honest every time I see him playing instead of getting motivated I kind of get sad,, I mean I don't want to fall on the same thing,
also since I started playing guitar, I found out the life is so short, but that is another subject

don't get me wrong  I like this man He's my friend but,, I don't want to fall,, doing the same thing,

Any advice?
besides practice

pardon My English since it's my second language:-)

2 (edited by cytania 2007-12-13 10:31:05)

Re: tips to avoid this

1) Practise different strum patterns, try them out on songs, see how well they fit.

2) Have you learnt finger-picking? If you can master the basic 'clawhammer' travis pick you will sound different. Great for softer, slower songs.

3) Buy a chorus pedal, switch it on for numbers that need more oomph!

4) Get a different guitar. Say you have a bright, sparkley acoustic look to buy a boomy, boxy semi. Change guitars to fit different songs.

5) Get Ralph Argesta's 'Blues: Jam Trax' book and CD. Get your repetitive friend to play the basic I IV progressions whilst you improvise. When you get a nice sounding improvisation tab it out for Sunday best ;-)

'The sound of the city seems to disappear'

Hi Gus!
To me it seems like your problem is more psycological than anything with your playing...

Anyone can learn to play a guitar, BUT to be good at it (as with everything in life) you have to like what you do AND let that joy shine through when you play.