Topic: woman singing

i am new to guitar, started in sept 07,  love it......however, my singing sucks, i never really thought my voice was all that low until i tried singing with my guitar.  (i don't seem to have this problem when i am singing along with a cd) i want to belt out the song but my voice is low and i seem to be straining and of course it sounds terrible.  is there a way to change the chords to fit my voice.  for example, i've been playing "suds in the bucket" i'm okay with that song until i get to the chorus, then it seems to go up and i cannot do that. can anyone recommend anything,  different chords, capo etc,  i need help...

Re: woman singing

My wife has the same problem. Since I've only been playing guitar for a little over 2 1/2 years it gets to be a problem for me to find the right key. I've learned, thru trial and error, that my wife is more comfortable singing in the key of "G" as she can get more projection without straning. What I do is look for the song under the Chordie format and either change the key thru the transpose function or, again by trial and error, I've learned to transpose the chords myself. I don't know the key of the song you mentioned but I do know the song. To transpose the chords I find its easer to use the "Nashville Numbering" system and assign all chords a number.  If the song is in the key of "D" the chords would be:

D..........E......F#/Gb......G..........A..........B.....C#/Db......D

To transpose the chords to the key of "G" the chords would be;

G........A..........B.........C.........D.........E......F#/Gb.......G

In each of these progressions the 1st, 4th and 5th chords are Major chords.
The 2nd, 3rd and 6th chords are minor chords.
The 7th chord is a dimished chord.

This principle will work for all chord progressions so give it a try.

By using a capo you can change the key of a song while using chords you are familar with. An example of this would be;