Topic: What is the most important part of a song?

My guess = THE INTRO.
WHY? Because you get an immediate impact on the audience.
I believe that the first 30 seconds of a song are the most important.
PURPOSE = CATCH THE ATTENTION OF THE AUDIENCE and be ORIGINAL, STRONG, UNIQUE and UNFORGETTABLE.
Do you agree whit my hypothesis = if you don't catch and touch your audience in those famous 30 seconds your song might be very good but becomes less important because you didn't catch the audience.

[color=blue]- GITAARDOCPHIL SAIS: TO CONQUER DEAD, YOU HAVE TO DIE[/color]   AND [color=blue] we are born to die[/color]
- MY GUITAR PLAYS EVERY STYLE = BLUES, ROCK, METAL, so I NEED TO LEARN HOW TO PLAY IT.
[color=blue]Civilization began the first time an angry person cast a word instead of a rock.[/color]

Re: What is the most important part of a song?

I'm no pro but I'd have to agree with you Doc.
Also when your pitching your song.You forever hear stories of producers that listen to the first 15-30 seconds of a song to determine whether it has appeal or not.
When it comes to classic songs you recognize them inside the first 5 seconds.

Good Topic smile

Kenny

Just Keepin on Keepin on
Martin DC15E
Cort MR710F
Squire Strat (Chinese)

Thanks KAP54 for writing GOOD TOPIC. I do a lot of research and thinking and what you wrote is 100% correct, I didn't think about it. Also the habit of using different "track-lists" is strange.
On an European album you will find often that the first track is the 5th track on a US album and the 7th track on the Japanese version.
ABOUT INTRO'S = WHO CAN FORGET SOME MEMORABLE INTROS like
- SMOKE ON THE WATER by DEEP PURPLE (If they wouldn't have THAT intro I believe the song looses at least 50% of the value)
- SMELLS LIKE TEEN SPIRIT by NIRWANA
- SWEET HOME ALABAMA and here I want to give some comment: it is a quit difficult intro and I have some live tracks of that song, well they NEVER play the song as they play on the album.