Topic: Help Confirm My Understanding of Mode

Hi,

I am new to music and trying to make sure I understand the concept of how modes work in the greater scope of guitar. I am looking for someone to look at what I think I understand and confirm or correct it.

A greatly simplified song…

[*]We start with determining the [B]Key[/b], which provides us with the [B]Scale[/b].
    [*]Then we determine the type of tone we want [B](Mode)[/b] by choosing one of the degrees (I, ii, iii, IV, V, vi, vii) from our scale as our central tone/root chord. We play the root chord in a progression which provides the [B]Harmony[/b] and make sure the root is the dominant tone.
    [*]Then we overlay the harmony, with the notes from the original scale which makes the [B]Melody[/b].

I am just looking for a high level confirmation that what I have defined above is correct.

Thanks

Re: Help Confirm My Understanding of Mode

I would find some chords that sound good with the melody you have chosen and not worry about the mode smile

"Growing old is not for sissies"

Russell_Harding wrote:

I would find some chords that sound good with the melody you have chosen and not worry about the mode smile

Amen!

my papy said son your going too drive me too drinking if you dont stop driving that   Hot  Rod  Lincoln!! Cmdr cody and his lost planet airman

You are technically correct but this is a very sanitary, unfeeling way to write music. Russell has the right idea. smile

Russell_Harding wrote:

Baldguitardude wrote:

You are technically correct but this is a very sanitary, unfeeling way to write music. Russell has the right idea. smile

Well . . . maybe.  Upfront disclaimer:  I know squat about songwriting.