Topic: Building...

Hello all.

I've been playing the guitar for about 5/6 months now (On a Fender Tiki Acoustic, and a Squier Affinity Strat), and I've come to the point where I would like to understand more about the instruments themselves.

The way I personally like to understand how things work, is to build them from scratch. When I took up mountain biking, I started off with a cheap bike, and ended up building my own one, as to understand how the components all work etc. Same with my computer.

Anyway enough waffle. Basically as a total idiot of guitar components (I can tune but haven't dared to adjust anything else on the strat) I need somewhere to start.

I love the shape of the strat, and I've seen a really nice yellow blank strat canvas. I've got about £500 or so I'm prepared to throw at this. (I know i could get a decent guitar for that, but like i've mentioned, its the building experience, and the knowledge im after, so i know i can change things easily and competently in the future, and understand there role in my music).

I'm guess i need the following components :

Base
Neck (with head and nut and keys already attached?)
Pickups
Strings
Bridge
Socket for cable.

What else do i need to pick up? and are there any decent components I can get, that I could successfully build my guitar for my budget?

Thanks for reading.
Ben.

●████▅▅▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄....▄▄▄
▄▄▅██████▅▄▃▂
█ █ █ █ █ █ █ █ █ █ █ █►
◥☼▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲⊙▲☼◤ -Mr T says: Quit yo jibba Jabba! You Ain't hurt!

2 (edited by getfiddle 2008-07-29 16:03:56)

Re: Building...

ApeDoctor,
If your wanting to build a kit, then you need to make sure you buy quality parts, [not the junk they put in Squires] So be sure to get the parts they put in actual strats! The reason I say this is because my brother had a Squire years ago and it was a piece of junk. Could never keep it in tune, so make
sure you spend the extra money and get decent parts like they put in their more expensive guitars!