Topic: Beautiful Acoustic Guitar Chords

Hello,

I have been playing guitar (self taught) for about 9 years now.  I play praise and worship on my acoustic and I really want to spice up my playing with some fresh chords.  If any of you out there could suggest some that would be great.  I could really use some chords that really add something to the music.  Thank you all for your help.

Re: Beautiful Acoustic Guitar Chords

may I suggest a capo? it opens a whole new world of sounds.

What about playing in an open tuning. I believe this can give you all sorts of new possibilities.

Is anything really made up of zeros and ones??

Hi, Alvee33,
Open tunings are fun and so rewarding. If you gig and play different tunings, please have a different guitar for each tuning.
Nothing is more irritating that holding up the show while some goober pulls his guitar into an alternate tuning.

Christmetalking,
Chosing fresh new songs to learn that have inspiring chord progressions is the best way to discover new chords and find out how and where they are used.

We pronounce it "Guf Coast".
Ya'll wanna go down to the Guf?

Hey, Tubatooter, my last post makes me sound like I have experience of playing in open tunings when, in fact, I do not. It's something I have been looking at in the past few weeks, trying to find one that suits me best. So far I've just been going round in circles.

I recently, through Youtube, discovered the band Boyce Avenue. They have a lot of acoustic covers posted and watching the guy play it looks like he's playing in some open tuning, but I don't know which (possibly C).  Hence the reason for my interest.

Any recommendations on a good all round open tuning?

Is anything really made up of zeros and ones??

Most popular alternative tunings around here are open E chord (all strings open) and playing in D with the big E string, only, tuned down to D.

We pronounce it "Guf Coast".
Ya'll wanna go down to the Guf?

7 (edited by Caracena 2008-09-18 00:53:05)