Topic: New to Chordie and Novice Acoustic player

Hey all:

I am new to both, Chordie and learning to play the guitar...I have been practicing/playing for just about a year now...I can play some songs but still struggle with speed and some chord changes...I have noticed a vast improvement in the last 2-3 months...However, I still struggle with chord changes to "C"...my left hand pointer finger was mangled several years ago in a fight with a chainsaw (chainsaw-1...me-nothing), so I have no knuckle at the mid point on my pointer...thus I have to really work to make it find the "B' string in the first fret...any suggestions would be greatly appreciated...I am a 54 year old novice with no musical background, but I do love learning to play!!!

Re: New to Chordie and Novice Acoustic player

Three options:
1. Play it with your middle, ring and pinkie finger.
2. In many circumstances you can substitute a C9:
x

3. Play as a 3rd fret barre chord with an "A" shape.

And welcome to Chordie!

Welcome to Chordie Steve!  (Hoping I got your name right? correct as you prefer)

Index not working?  Try learning your "open" chord shapes using the 2 3 4 fingers and let the 1 (index) have a little vacation.  I'm assuming that it is fairly straight and missing the "bendy bit".  Most of us had to learn how to do that later in our learning when getting into barre chords anyway, and it will make that transition easier when you explore barres as well.  Major, minor, and the 7th chords are all do-able index delete..... as well as the dim chord shapes. 

Bring that stiff index into play as your barre, and the whole fretboard opens up into usable "real-estate"!

Many of us are "older" and struggle with joints not working as well as we'd like, so you are sure to get lots of support from the Chordie Crowd as you go along.

Thanks for posting and introducing yourself to the Community.... Welcome Aboard!  smile

"what is this quintessence of dust?"  - Shakespeare